Is Data Engineering right for you?

Data science has been a topic that been growing a lot in the world of Technology these past 5-10 years.

I’ve been interested to see if it was a topic that maybe I should have more of an understanding, as a (all round) Techie I am, for a while now.

I managed to do some basic data cleaning using Python, in a course I did back around 2019 (you can look at that code on my GitHub (link to my code is in the left-hand column)). And for the most part I enjoyed doing it. And then COVID struck my little world, and I got distracted with what I wanted to learn next.

Fast-forward to today, I done a bit more research on Data Science and which area would suit my abilities. And Data Engineering came up top. So I began reading and understanding what does a Data Engineer need to know.

I found a good video about Data Engineering, from an author who wrote about it, which became an O’Reilly book (they do good techie books!).

Here is the video: Fundamentals of Data Engineering with Joe Reis (Interview)

His book which he co-authored can be found here.

If you are a techie that has done some Dev (software programming) work before, the 2 links above may be of interest to you. And I believe at least, you should know the basics of what a Data Engineer does in his job.

Do have a look.

If you are looking for a course in Data Engineering, DataCamp has one that looks promising. I’m only 3% into it at the moment, so I cannot comment further about it until later this year.

Leave a comment