My journey into Buddhism

Around the mid 1990’s I went to East London Buddhist Centre for a meditation class. I had an interest in the Buddha.

Teresa my wife and I visited Malaysia in 1997 on holiday and to see family. Malaysia (and Thailand which we visited later on that holiday) had Buddhist temples. Teresa’s mother Kim bought me a laughing Buddha pendant and I was fascinated with the whole concept of Buddhism and the mysterious religion I had little clue of.

Oddly as I got older I dabbled more in Christianity back home, and even got to the point of being baptised. But something was missing for me. I was still seeking.

I got into western meditation via a book and CD around 2007. Later on I discovered a few meditation apps which I begun using for anxiety that I was suffering with. All along I had Buddhism in the back of my mind. I no longer could be a Christian and after a year of back and forth decisions, in Spring 2024 I converted and became a Buddhist.


Leave a comment